You are hereUpcoming Meetings

Upcoming Meetings

We're very excited to announce the MMT Observatory's 40th Anniversary Symposium and Celebration to be held May 14-16, 2019 in Tucson. Please consider joining us! More information can be found here.

Summary: The innovative 4.5-m Multiple Mirror Telescope was dedicated on May 9, 1979. Later that year, on July 1, 1979, an MOU was signed by the Smithsonian Institution and the Arizona Board of Regents formally establishing the MMT Observatory. The original telescope saw "last light" on March 2, 1998, and the Observatory entered a new era of scientific discovery with the dedication of the 6.5-m telescope on May 20, 2000. The new telescope will soon surpass the operating lifetime of the original telescope. The Symposium will recognize 40 years of successful operation and celebrate the MMT's past, present, and future. Presentations will include a mix of historical "recollections", recent science results, and future instrumentation. The talks will be aimed at an educated public to allow for a broad audience. Following the first day of talks, there will be a welcome reception on the evening of Tuesday, May 14th. A banquet and celebration will be held on the evening of Wednesday, May 15th; staff and friends of the MMT who are not able to attend the symposium talks are encouraged to register for the banquet and social event. Special tours of Mount Hopkins are scheduled for Monday, May 13. There may also be some free time allocated on Wednesday afternoon for relaxing or sightseeing.

Invited Talks: A list of invited speakers will be posted on the symposium website.

Contributed Talks and Posters: The deadline for title submission for contributed talks and posters is April 5, 2019.

Registration: There will be options to register for only the symposium, only the banquet/celebration, or both. Registration is now open and will close on April 12, 2019.

Accommodations: A block of rooms has been reserved at the Tucson Marriott University Park at the government rate of $94/night. The deadline for reserving a room is April 13, 2019. Click here to reserve a room.

Additional details about registering, accommodations, and the agenda will be sent in future emails and posted on the Symposium and Celebration website.

Scientific Organizing Committee:
Grant Williams
Joannah Hinz
Ben Weiner
Nelson Caldwell
Serena Kim

Local Organizing Committee:
Grant Williams
Susan Wahl
Barbara Russ
Joannah Hinz
Ben Weiner
Tim Pickering
Duane Gibson
Dallan Porter